Did a little bible reading this morning and wanted to share a couple things. His Word is full of truth and knowledge and it’s always very convicting to read it. Shows how imperfect I am 😀

Matthew 6:

I feel like I don’t have too much trouble following verses 1-18. For some reason, I never got much of a kick out of being praised or looked highly upon.

What I do need to work on is verses 19-34 – laying up treasures in heaven, not on earth. Not being anxious about anything. Trusting in God for his provision (food, drink, clothes). It’s something I’ve been struggling with for a long time. And now that the job search has started, I am tempted to worry a lot more. Thankfully, I have been growing over the past couple years (and especially on V-SET) to entrust my life to Him for His glory. But it is still very difficult for me!

“Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin, yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is alive and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith?” – v. 28-30

Matthew 7:

“Enter by the narrow gate. For the gate is wide and the way is easy that leads to destruction, and those who enter by it are many. For the gate is narrow and the way is hard that leads to life, and those who find it are few” – v. 13-14

For some reason, these verses struck me this morning. I’ve heard these verses many times before and I always seem to focus on the wide/narrow way. Have never considered the easy/hard way. Caused me to ask myself if following God is difficult. EE is hard. CS is hard. For my life so far, being a Christian hasn’t been too hard. I’ve been free to follow God my entire life and I haven’t been persecuted for my faith. These verses have opened my eyes but I don’t know specifically what God is asking me to do about it.

Matthew 8-9:

Going through the various healings performed by Jesus, one thing I picked up upon was the faith of the people who came to Jesus. They genuinely believed that what they were asking for would be done, with 100% confidence. The faith of the centurion (Matt. 8:5-13), the dead girl’s mother (Matt. 9:18), and  the bleeding woman (Matt 9:20-22) in particular really stand out. They knew that Jesus had the power and authority to heal each and every sickness they may have. They believed with all their heart without any doubts! I rarely (maybe never) come to God and ask Him with confidence quite like these people.

